I sought the Lo…

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.
Psalm 34:3-4

Haha, hey, so this is my first post….and I’m just going to wing it!  Lately, my life has consisted of stress, lack of sleep, and malnutrition.  The funny thing is that I’ve been bringing all this on myself.  I stand firm to my declaration, “relationships are for weenies”, for one main reason: relationships often drag people apart.  Now I know, I’m being facetious, but my whole view on romantic relationships has been shifting and changing and influenced over the last two years.  Looking back on my high school relationship, I can see so many things I did wrong.  Now that I’m in college, I’ve developed the know-it-all syndrome:  clearly, I know everything there is to know about romantic relationships (funny joke, I know :p).  

The great thing about serving a gracious God is that He never lets slip an opportunity to humble me.  So this whole week has been one roller coaster of a trip, like the freaking Viking, or the Superman….or some epic ride like those.  I wasn’t sure, by Tuesday, how I was going to maintain my sanity until the weekend; prayer itself seemed so insufficient.  Boy, was I wrong.  God knew what he was doing, he knew what my soul needed, and he knocked me down a couple notches.  

The speaker at Large Group, Chris Loose, gave a talk on romance redefined.  I payed attention knowing that any advice on relationships, romantic or otherwise, would be valuable.  What I wasn’t expecting was to grasp a message much deeper.  At the end, just before Chris finished, he brought up his main points.  Number 4 suddenly seemed to blare out at me: COMMUNITY.  Everything I had been going through this week, every little bothersome thing, suddenly seemed so…..within my grasp to fix.  It felt as though God was saying, “Now that you understand the problem verbally, fix it.  Take the initiative, be intentional, and TALK TO THESE PEOPLE”.  For so long I’ve talked with friends about things that have been bothering me, and people who I had been getting fed up with.  Well, tonight was it.  Suffice to say that when the Holy Spirit convicts, it’s impossible to resist.  Three talks and 6 hours later, I’ve never been so in awe of my Lord and Savior and His ability to restore and renew.  Bridges were rebuilt, my soul was renewed, and my community has never felt stronger.  I can honestly say that I was not expecting this.  I was not expecting these incredible results.  I was not expecting God to intervene in my life with such might and force.  I was not expecting my soul to shout with joy at the presence of the Spirit.  But Lord Almighty, I’m so glad it happened.  Hence, the passage.  I sought the Lord, and holy moly did he answer me.  I took refuge in Him, and I’ve never felt so blessed.  I invite you to taste and see just how good He is.  Steven 1, Dragons 0.

Leave a Reply

